2020 Annual Meeting Award Recipients

Member of the Year

This award is presented to an outstanding member company that in the past year has provided additional services, information or financial contributions over and above the level normally expected by The Business Council.

Congratulations to The Business Council's 2020 Member of the Year, Pfizer Inc.!

Pfizer Inc.


Chuck Steiner Memorial Chamber of the Year Award

Awarded to an outstanding organization and leadership team that make doing business in New York State a better experience for their members, this award is named in honor of Chuck Steiner, who had a stellar 37-year career leading the Niagara Falls Area Chamber, the Chamber of Schenectady County and the Capital Region Chamber. Chuck left a lasting impression on the chamber profession and the statewide business community and it is our privilege to recognize his lifetime of leadership, service and friendship.

Rensselaer County Chamber


Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the Chuck Steiner Memorial Chamber of the Year Award, the Rensselaer County Regional Chamber of Commerce!

Chuck Steiner


Father Peter Young Award for Community Service

The Father Peter Young Award is granted to a company or individual who has demonstrated a strong commitment to giving back and service to their community. The award is named in honor of the inaugural recipient, Father Peter Young, who has dedicated his life to improving the lives of those the system has left behind.

National Grid


Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the Father Peter Young Award for Community Service, National Grid!

Father Peter Young


Corning Award for Excellence

This magnificent piece of original Steuben Glass, handcrafted by masters in Corning, New York, is the most prestigious annual award presented by The Business Council and Corning Incorporated. It is given each year to a New Yorker who has demonstrated an outstanding level of accomplishment and a deep and sustaining commitment to the people of New York State. Click here for more information about the Corning Award, and it's past recipients.



Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the Corning Award for Excellence, H. Carl McCall!

Corning Award