Press Release: Business Council announces 2020 Annual Meeting award recipients, Agenda for Virtual Event



Business Council announces 2020 Annual Meeting award recipients, Agenda for Virtual Event
Honorees named for Corning Award, Member of the Year, Fr. Young Award for Community Service and Chamber of the year

ALBANY, N.Y.— The Business Council of New York State, Inc. today announced the winners of this year’s Annual Meeting awards. The Annual Meeting is the Council’s signature event, normally held each year at The Sagamore Resort in Bolton Landing, NY. This year’s events will be conducted virtually.

The 2020 Annual Meeting will take place September 24th & 25th and will feature a full agenda aimed to help our members and New York State businesses continue to navigate and overcome current economic challenges. Agenda highlights include:

⦁    Presentation from Pfizer on advances made in developing a Coronavirus vaccine;
⦁    Polling experts discussing the 2020 election; and
⦁    Breakdown of New York State's new mandatory paid sick leave law

Award Winners

Corning Award: This year’s winner of the prestigious Corning Award, presented each year by Corning Incorporated to the individual who best demonstrates an outstanding level of accomplishment in their chosen discipline, as well as a deep and sustaining commitment to the people of New York, is former New York State Comptroller and Chairman of the SUNY Board of Trustees, H. Carl McCall.  

“I am honored to be recognized for my public service by the Business Council of New York State with the Corning Award for Excellence, an award which has paid tribute to the tireless work of some of New York’s most steadfast advocates,” said H. Carl McCall. After over 50 years working alongside the Governor, the legislature, the SUNY Board of Trustees, and many of New York’s public officials, I have come to deeply value collaboration, teamwork, and community. BCNYS has long understood the importance of empowering and uplifting people of color, and ensuring that all New Yorkers, regardless of their background, have equal access to opportunity, particularly higher education, and I am earnestly grateful to have had their help in achieving our collective goals.”

Member of the Year: The 2020 recipient for Member of the Year is Pfizer Inc. Already one of the leaders globally in development and manufacturing of healthcare products, Pfizer is currently in the last phase of testing a vaccine for COVID-19. Pfizer has been in business, changing the world of medicine for over 150 years. They employ roughly 100,000 people globally. 

“For more than 40 years, Pfizer has been a proud member of the Business Council of New York State (BCNYS). We know that our strong partnership with the BCNYS is important to ensure that businesses from across multiple sectors in New York can continue to grow, thrive and prosper. A healthier business climate fosters our ability to deliver on Pfizer’s purpose: Breakthroughs that change patients’ lives.” said Elizabeth Golden, Vice President of Corporate Affairs. “As a company who has called New York home for 170 years, we are incredibly honored to receive this award.”

Chamber of the Year: This year’s recipient of the Chuck Steiner Memorial Chamber of the Year Award is the Rensselaer County Regional Chamber of Commerce. Prided on being “..the principal business, civic and economic development alliance for Rensselaer County and the surrounding gateway communities…” the Rensselaer Regional Chamber of Commerce was formed in 1900, and currently represents more than 800 business and community organizations that employ over 40,000 people. 

"On behalf of our board of directors and staff, our Chamber is incredibly grateful to receive this immense honor from the New York State Business Council," said Kate Manley, President of the Rensselaer County Regional Chamber of Commerce. "Since 1900, our Chamber has been established as a timely resource and staunch advocate for our local business community. With the obvious challenges presented by this year, we are even more driven by the needs of our member businesses to advance the economic prosperity of our region."

Father Young Award: The 2020 Father Young award recipient is National Grid. The award is given to the company or individual who has demonstrated a strong commitment to giving back and service to their community. The award is named in honor of Father Peter Young who has dedicated his life to improving the lives of those the system has left behind. Throughout the current global pandemic, National Grid has donated approximately $700,000 to help aid relief efforts. Their monetary and physical contributions have gone to aid families, communities, and frontline workers all impacted by the pandemic.

“National Grid is grateful to support front line workers, our customer and communities, to help provide relief and assistance for those hard-hit by the pandemic and we are humbled by this recognition,” said Melanie Littlejohn, Vice President of Community & Customer Management New York State. “These difficult times require a commitment to finding a better way which exemplifies Father Peter Young’s dedication to providing hope.  As we adjust to new ways of living, working and learning National Grid will be there with our partners doing what we do best when faced with a crisis – rolling up our sleeves and getting to work.”

RSVP NEEDED: The Thursday portion of this year’s Annual Meeting will be open to media. Because of the virtual format, all media wishing to attend are required to pre-register, which can be done by emailing our Director of Communications at [email protected] Please include the name of your media outlet and individual(s) attending. 

***Deadline for registration is Monday, September 21 at 4PM*** 

Thursday’s agenda includes:
⦁    Awards presentations
⦁    Federal election preview from the US Chamber of Commerce
⦁    COVID-19 vaccine update by Pfizer
⦁    2020 State and Presidential election forecast from Liz Benjamin & John Zogby

WHAT:    The Annual Meeting of The Business Council of New York State, Inc.

WHERE:    Virtual

WHEN:    Thursday September 24 
    Media is welcome to join starting at 12:30 pm Thursday 

# # #