Business Council board elects new co-chairs Karen Boykin-Towns and Eric Mower elected co-chairs, new committee assignments and vice-chairs also named


Director of Communications

ALBANY, N.Y.—The Board of Directors for The Business Council of New York State, Inc. last week elected Karen Boykin-Towns, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Pfizer Inc., and Eric Mower, chairman and CEO of Eric Mower + Associates (EMA), as co-chairs of the Council’s board of directors.

“As the leading business advocacy group in New York State, it is important our board and leadership represent the full scope of New York State’s business community,” said Heather C. Briccetti Esq., president and CEO of The Business Council of New York State, Inc. “Karen and Eric exemplify everything it means to be a business leader in New York State and I look forward to working closely with them both as we formulate our vision for the future of our organization.”

“I want to thank my co-chair, Ms. Boykin-Towns; Heather Briccetti; my fellow board members; and the entirety of The Business Council’s membership for bestowing on me this great honor,” said Eric Mower, chairman and chief executive officer of Eric Mower + Associates, and Council co-chair. “For more than 100 years The Business Council has been the voice of business in New York State and I am delighted to follow the exemplary work of my predecessors. The mission of improving the business climate of New York is never an easy one. But I am confident that together we are up for the challenge.”

“The Business Council of New York State, which represents businesses of all shapes and sizes from every corner of the state, is a formidable advocate working for policies that support innovation and economic growth,” said Karen Boykin-Towns, co-chair of The Business Council of New York State, Inc. and Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Pfizer Inc. “For more than a century the Council has fought to improve the business climate of New York State and the lives of all New Yorkers. The successes we have achieved over the years are a result of a strong relationship among the board, our broader membership and the Council’s staff. I am delighted to join my co-chair, Mr. Mower, in continuing the traditions of this great organization and helping us reach our lofty goals.”

In addition to the election of Mr. Mower and Ms. Boykin-Towns, the board also elected or re-elected the following individuals as vice-chairs:

Christopher C. Booth, Chief Executive Officer,
Excellus BlueCross BlueShield

Denise V. Gonick, President and CEO
MVP Health Care

Thomas F. Judson, Jr.,Chairman
The Pike Company, Inc.

Michael Printup, President
Watkins Glen International

G. Thomas Tranter, Jr., President
Corning Enterprises
Corning Incorporated

Marsha Gordon, President and CEO
The Business Council of Westchester

Additional slate of candidates – Business Council Board Class of 2019

For election or re-election to the Board; voted on by the members of The Business Council at the Annual Meeting of The Business Council Membership on September 22, 2016.

  • Dave Anderson, HealthNow New York
  • Karen Boykin-Towns, Pfizer
  • Terry Brown, TLBrown Management Group
  • Mike Doyle, Pleasant Valley Wine
  • Leecia Eve, Verizon Communications
  • Jim Fox, OBG
  • Dan Friedel, Northrop Grumman
  • Bridget Hart, KPH Healthcare Services
  • Tom Judson, The Pike Company
  • Jeffrey Kenefick, Five Star Bank
  • Henry Kuykendall, Delta Air Lines
  • Deba Mukherjee, Finch Paper
  • John Murray, Rose & Kiernan
  • Mike Nevins, J.P.Morgan
  • Steve Obermayer, BBL Companies
  • Erin Reuss-Hannafin, Deloitte LLP
  • Paul Taffe, Citizens Bank
  • Pat Toole, IBM
  • Tom Tranter, Corning Incorporated
  • Mike Zimmer, Xerox

Nominees for Board-level Committee Appointments
Approved by the Board of Directors at the Board meeting on September 21, 2016.

  • Education and Workforce Development: Matthew Augustine, Dolores Kruchten and Pat Toole
  • Finance & Audit: Kevin Murphy
  • Investment Subcommittee: Mitch Miller
  • Membership: Marsha Gordon, committee chair
  • Nominating and Governance: Peter Chynoweth, Jim Fox and Dolores Kruchten
  • Political Strategy: Peter Chynoweth, Bob Duffy and Jim Fox