Business Council announces 2018 Annual Meeting award recipients


Director of Communications

Honorees named for Corning Award, Member of the Year and Chamber of the Year

ALBANY, N.Y.—The Business Council of New York State, Inc., today announced the winners of this year’s Annual Meeting awards. The Annual Meeting is the Council’s signature event, held each year at The Sagamore Resort in Bolton Landing, NY. The Annual Meeting regularly attracts hundreds of the state’s top thought leaders in the worlds of business, politics and media. This year’s agenda is focused on the upcoming statewide elections and will feature candidates for all three major statewide offices.

Individuals wishing to register or view the agenda may do so online at


Award Winners

Corning Award: This year’s winner of the prestigious Corning Award, presented each year by Corning Incorporated to the individual who best demonstrates an outstanding level of accomplishment in their chosen discipline, as well as a deep and sustaining commitment to the people of New York, is Stan Litow, a professor at Duke and Columbia University along with serving as Vice President Emeritus, Corporate Citizenship and Corporate Affairs & President Emeritus, for the IBM International Foundation.

"I am extremely honored to have been selected to receive this year’s prestigious Corning Award for Excellence,” said Stanley Litow, professor at Duke and Columbia University along with serving as Vice President Emeritus, Corporate Citizenship and Corporate Affairs & President Emeritus, for the IBM International Foundation. “In my recent book, The Challenge for Business and Society: From Risk to Reward, I focus on the positive role that business has played, plays currently and can play in the future, in addressing the nation’s most daunting societal challenges. Nothing is more important to our state and nation than improving school quality and helping all students acquire the skills needed to succeed. If we meet that challenge in New York State, we will lead the nation in every way. I've dedicated my career to this effort, and am pleased to have worked collaboratively with The Business Council toward helping meet that challenge."

Member of the Year: This year’s award, given to an outstanding member company that in the past year has provided additional services, information or financial contributions over and above the level normally expected by The Business Council, is none other than AT&T. Accepting the award will be Marissa Shorenstein, President, Northeast Region, AT&T. 

“It is an immense honor for AT&T to be recognized by The Business Council as Member of the Year for the company’s longstanding commitment to supporting communities across New York. Receiving this accolade from the leading business advocacy association in the Empire State is especially humbling because of all of the other remarkable and innovative companies – big and small – that it represents tirelessly every day to assure our vibrant business community has a significant and unified voice on matters that impact economic development and job creation,” said Marissa Shorenstein, President, Northeast Region, AT&T “AT&T has a long and proud tradition of supporting organizations and communities throughout New York, dating back more than 100 years, and the company looks forward to continuing this rich and rewarding tradition for the next 100 years and beyond. Thank you for your unparalleled advocacy on behalf of the entire business community.”

The Chuck Steiner Memorial Chamber of the Year: This year’s Chamber of the Year award will, for the first time ever, be named in honor of Chuck Steiner, who had a stellar 37-year career leading the Niagara Falls Area Chamber, the Chamber of Schenectady County and the Capital Region Chamber. The award is given to the chamber that best demonstrated extraordinary effort in advocating on behalf of its members and the state’s broader business community. The winner of this year’s award is the Chemung County Chamber of Commerce

“We’re incredibly honored to receive this inaugural award recognizing Chuck’s legacy,” said Kamala A. Keeley, President & Chief Executive Officer of the Chemung County Chamber of Commerce. We’re grateful to our partners at The Business Council and look forward to continue working on behalf of our members at a local, state, and federal level. This recognition is truly humbling, but only inspires us to keep moving forward on initiatives that greatly affect our region; workforce development, transportation and infrastructure, downtown revitalization, and legislative issues, to name a few. On behalf of the Chemung County Chamber of Commerce staff and our Board of Directors, sincere thanks to The Business Council team for this recognition.”