The Business Council Political Action Committee announces endorsements of incumbent members of the State Assembly and State Senate


Director of Communications

Albany, NY—October 13, 2014—The Political Action Committee of The Business Council of New York State has endorsed 29 members of the State Assembly and 29 members of the State Senate. The endorsements are based largely on how these incumbent lawmakers ranked on The Business Council's Legislative Scorecard of priority issues for the 2013 and 2014 legislative sessions. Additional endorsements of challengers and for open seats will be released shortly.

“Our legislative scorecard is based on issues critical to economic growth, creating good jobs and strong communities,” said Heather C. Briccetti, Esq., president and CEO of The Business Council. “Our priority issues in the past two legislative sessions included business tax reform, controls on state spending, Wage Theft Act reform.”

The Business Council Legislative Scorecard illustrates how individual legislators voted on Business Council priority legislation, broken out by each Senate and Assembly conference. It covers thirty-eight specific bills over the two year legislative cycle.

“It is encouraging to have received strong support from Republican, IDC and Democrat legislators,” said Ken Pokalsky, vice president of government affairs for The Business Council. “Bipartisan support produced two successful sessions for pro-growth policies. As in past cycles, the most consistent support for our issues comes from the Senate and Assembly Republican conferences.”

“Controlling spending to allow for broad-based tax reform, promoting private sector investment and job growth, jobs and improving educational outcomes in the State are The Business Council's priorities, and we have endorsed legislators who have demonstrated support for those priorities,” said Briccetti.

The following is a complete list of Assembly Members endorsed by The Business Council (PAC)

AD-2 Anthony Palumbo (R) New Suffolk AD-3 Edward Hennessey (D) Medford AD- 9 Joseph Saladino (R) Massapequa AD-10 Chad A. Lupinacci (R) Huntington Station AD-12 Andrew Raia (R) Huntington Station AD-14 David McDonough (R) Merrick AD-17 Thomas McKevitt (R) East Meadow AD-63 Michael Cusick (D) Silver Lake AD-64 Nicole Malliotakis (R) Brooklyn AD-102 Peter Lopez (R) Schoharie AD-111 Angelo Santabarbara (D) Rotterdam AD-112 Jim Tedisco (R) Glenville AD-114 Dan Stec (R) Queensbury AD-115 Janet Duprey (R) Peru AD-117 Ken Blankenbush (R) Black River AD-118 Marc Butler (R) Newport AD–120 William A. Barclay (R) Pulaski AD-121 William Magee (D) Nelson AD- 122 Clifford Crouch (R) Guilford AD-126 Gary Finch (R) Springport AD-130 Robert Oaks (R) Macedon AD-131 Brian Kolb (R) Canandaigua AD-132 Philip Palmesano (R) Corning AD-139 Stephen Hawley (R) Batavia AD-140 Robin Schimminger (D) Kenmore AD-144 Jane Corwin (R) Clarence AD-146 Raymond Walter (R) East Amherst AD-148 Joseph Giglio (R) Gowanda AD-150 Andy Goodell (R) Jamestown

The following is a complete list of State Senators endorsed by The Business Council PAC

SD-2 John J. Flanagan (R) Smithtown SD-5 Carl L. Marcellino (R) Syosset SD-6 Kemp Hannon (R) Garden City SD-7 Jack M. Martins (R) Mineola SD-9 Dean Skelos (R) Rockville Centre SD-17 Simcha Felder (D) Brooklyn SD-22 Martin Golden (R) Brooklyn SD-23 Diane J. Savino (IDC) Staten Island SD-24 Andrew J. Lanza (R) Great Kills SD-34 Jeffery Klein (IDC) Bronx SD-38 David Carlucci (IDC) Clarkstown SD-39 Bill Larkin (R) Cornwall-on-Hudson SD-42 John Bonacic (R) Mt. Hope SD-43 Kathleen A. Marchione (R) Halfmoon SD-45 Betty Little (R) Queensbury SD-47 Joseph Griffo (R) Rome SD-48 Patty Ritchie (R Oswegatchie SD-49 Hugh Farley (R) Niskayuna SD-50 John DeFrancisco (R) Syracuse SD-51 James Seward (R) Milford SD-52 Thomas W. Libous (R) Binghamton SD-53 David J. Valesky (IDC) Oneida SD-54 Michael Nozzolio (R) Seneca SD-56 Joseph Robach (R) Rochester SD-57 Catharine Young (R) Olean SD-58 Thomas O'Mara (R) Big Flats SD-59 Patrick Gallivan (R) Elma SD-60 Mark Grisanti (R) North Buffalo SD- 61 Michael H. Ranzenhofer (R) Amherst