Zack Hutchins
Director of Communications

For Release — October 13, 2014

The Business Council Political Action Committee announces endorsements of incumbent members of the State Assembly and State Senate

Albany, NY—October 13, 2014—The Political Action Committee of The Business Council of New York State has endorsed 29 members of the State Assembly and 29 members of the State Senate. The endorsements are based largely on how these incumbent lawmakers ranked on The Business Council's Legislative Scorecard of priority issues for the 2013 and 2014 legislative sessions. Additional endorsements of challengers and for open seats will be released shortly.

“Our legislative scorecard is based on issues critical to economic growth, creating good jobs and strong communities,” said Heather C. Briccetti, Esq., president and CEO of The Business Council. “Our priority issues in the past two legislative sessions included business tax reform, controls on state spending, Wage Theft Act reform.”

The Business Council Legislative Scorecard illustrates how individual legislators voted on Business Council priority legislation, broken out by each Senate and Assembly conference. It covers thirty-eight specific bills over the two year legislative cycle.

“It is encouraging to have received strong support from Republican, IDC and Democrat legislators,” said Ken Pokalsky, vice president of government affairs for The Business Council. “Bipartisan support produced two successful sessions for pro-growth policies. As in past cycles, the most consistent support for our issues comes from the Senate and Assembly Republican conferences.”

“Controlling spending to allow for broad-based tax reform, promoting private sector investment and job growth, jobs and improving educational outcomes in the State are The Business Council's priorities, and we have endorsed legislators who have demonstrated support for those priorities,” said Briccetti.

The following is a complete list of Assembly Members endorsed by The Business Council (PAC)

AD-2 Anthony Palumbo (R) New Suffolk
AD-3 Edward Hennessey (D) Medford
AD- 9 Joseph Saladino (R) Massapequa
AD-10 Chad A. Lupinacci (R) Huntington Station
AD-12 Andrew Raia (R) Huntington Station
AD-14 David McDonough (R) Merrick
AD-17 Thomas McKevitt (R) East Meadow
AD-63 Michael Cusick (D) Silver Lake
AD-64 Nicole Malliotakis (R) Brooklyn
AD-102 Peter Lopez (R) Schoharie
AD-111 Angelo Santabarbara (D) Rotterdam
AD-112 Jim Tedisco (R) Glenville
AD-114 Dan Stec (R) Queensbury
AD-115 Janet Duprey (R) Peru
AD-117 Ken Blankenbush (R) Black River
AD-118 Marc Butler (R) Newport
AD–120 William A. Barclay (R) Pulaski
AD-121 William Magee (D) Nelson
AD- 122 Clifford Crouch (R) Guilford
AD-126 Gary Finch (R) Springport
AD-130 Robert Oaks (R) Macedon
AD-131 Brian Kolb (R) Canandaigua
AD-132 Philip Palmesano (R) Corning
AD-139 Stephen Hawley (R) Batavia
AD-140 Robin Schimminger (D) Kenmore
AD-144 Jane Corwin (R) Clarence
AD-146 Raymond Walter (R) East Amherst
AD-148 Joseph Giglio (R) Gowanda
AD-150 Andy Goodell (R) Jamestown

The following is a complete list of State Senators endorsed by The Business Council PAC

SD-2 John J. Flanagan (R) Smithtown
SD-5 Carl L. Marcellino (R) Syosset
SD-6 Kemp Hannon (R) Garden City
SD-7 Jack M. Martins (R) Mineola
SD-9 Dean Skelos (R) Rockville Centre
SD-17 Simcha Felder (D) Brooklyn
SD-22 Martin Golden (R) Brooklyn
SD-23 Diane J. Savino (IDC) Staten Island
SD-24 Andrew J. Lanza (R) Great Kills
SD-34 Jeffery Klein (IDC) Bronx
SD-38 David Carlucci (IDC) Clarkstown
SD-39 Bill Larkin (R) Cornwall-on-Hudson
SD-42 John Bonacic (R) Mt. Hope
SD-43 Kathleen A. Marchione (R) Halfmoon
SD-45 Betty Little (R) Queensbury
SD-47 Joseph Griffo (R) Rome
SD-48 Patty Ritchie (R Oswegatchie
SD-49 Hugh Farley (R) Niskayuna
SD-50 John DeFrancisco (R) Syracuse
SD-51 James Seward (R) Milford
SD-52 Thomas W. Libous (R) Binghamton
SD-53 David J. Valesky (IDC) Oneida
SD-54 Michael Nozzolio (R) Seneca
SD-56 Joseph Robach (R) Rochester
SD-57 Catharine Young (R) Olean
SD-58 Thomas O'Mara (R) Big Flats
SD-59 Patrick Gallivan (R) Elma
SD-60 Mark Grisanti (R) North Buffalo
SD- 61 Michael H. Ranzenhofer (R) Amherst