Zack Hutchins
Director of Communications

For Release — May 13, 2009

Business Council elects two new members of the Board of Directors

ALBANY—Two distinguished individuals have been elected to the Business Council of New York State, Inc.'s Board of Directors.

Clarkson University President Anthony G. Collins, PhD. and National Grid USA President Thomas B. King were elected at the Board of Directors meeting on May 4, 2009 in New York City.

“The Business Council is pleased that these two talented individuals will bring their experience and expertise to our Board of Directors,” said Kenneth Adams, president & CEO of The Business Council of New York State. “They will be of great help as we move forward in working to create good jobs and strong communities in New York.”

A member of the Clarkson faculty since 1982, Dr. Collins was named the 16th President of Clarkson University in 2003. He is a regional and national advocate for higher education and industrial partnerships that couple research discovery and engineering innovation to spur economic development. With a focus on advancing sustainable energy solutions and environmental technology innovation, he serves as the president of the Seaway Private Equity Corporation that invests in new technology companies in St. Lawrence County. He is also on the board of The Solar Energy Consortium and the Beacon Institute. He earned his undergraduate degree in environmental engineering from Monash University in his native Australia and his master's and doctoral degrees from Lehigh University (PA)

Mr. King joined National Grid as Executive Director, Electricity Distribution & Generation in July 2007. Prior to joining National Grid he served as President of PG&E Corporation and Chairman and CEO of Pacific Gas and Electric Company.

He serves on the boards of Jobs for Mass, Alliance to Save Energy and the Edison Electric Institute.
He holds an undergraduate degree from Louisiana State University. He is also a graduate of the University of Michigan's executive management program and Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Nuclear Reactor Technology program.