Zack Hutchins
Director of Communications

For Release — October 6, 2008

Business Council Board Elects Officers and Directors

ALBANY— The Business Council of New York State's Board of Directors has elected Kevin Burke, president and CEO of Consolidated Edison, Inc. as chair of the Council's Board for the year ahead.

Burke became chairman, president, and CEO of Consolidated Edison on September 1, 2005. He also serves as chairman and CEO of Consolidated Edison's principal subsidiary, Consolidated Edison Company of New York.

He joined the company in 1973 and has served as president of Orange and Rockland Utilities. He has held other positions throughout the company including senior vice president responsible for the company's electric transmission and distribution systems.

The New York-based Burke holds a master's in business policy from Columbia University, a juris doctor from Fordham University, a master's in engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a bachelor's in engineering from The Cooper Union.

“Kevin Burke's experience in energy will be a huge asset to The Business Council. Energy issues are very important to our members and the state of New York. We are very grateful that he is willing to serve the Council in this important role,” said Kenneth Adams, president and CEO of The Business Council.

“The Business Council plays a critical role in promoting economic growth, business investment and job opportunities throughout New York State,” Burke said. “I look forward to working closely with the Governor and legislative leaders on issues affecting our economy, particularly during this challenging period.”

The board also re-elected Paul S. Speranza, vice chairman and general counsel and secretary of Rochester's Wegmans Food Markets, Inc, as the Board's treasurer and vice chairman for finance. David Klein, CEO of the Rochester-based Excellus, was re-elected secretary.

One new board member was elected. Patricia McMahon of Northrup Grumman Corporation was elected to a term ending in 2011. The Long Island-based McMahon is deputy of Integrated Systems Eastern Region and Bethpage, N.Y. site manager for Northup Grumman. She is also vice president and IPT leader of Electronic Support and Attack Solutions and market segment leader for Information Operations/Electronic Attack.

She joined Northrop Grumman in 2003. She is a graduate of the New York Institute of Technology and the State University at Farmingdale.

The board also re-elected 13 members to terms ending in 2011. They are:

Matthew Augustine, president & CEO, Eltrex Industries

Mark Bitz, president, Central New York Feeds

Bruce Boyea, chairman, president & CEO, Security Mutual

Bob Catell, chairman USA, National Grid

Paul Comeau, chairman, Hodgson Russ

Robert Curley, chairman, Citizens Bank

Gregory Harden, president & CEO, Harden Furniture

D. Cameron Hyde, president North American Partners Group, Xerox

Jill Kaplan, vice president-publisher, Crain's New York Business

David Klein, CEO, Excellus Blue Cross Blue Shield

Michele Mehler, vice president of operations, State Farm Insurance

Eric Mower, chairman & CEO, Eric Mower and Associates

Mike Zarcone, senior vice president, MetLife