Zack Hutchins
Director of Communications

For Release — Monday, September 12, 2005


ALBANY—Daniel A. Carp, who capped his career at Eastman Kodak Company by leading the company’s historic transformation from an overwhelmingly film-based company to one with a leading position in digital imaging, will receive The Business Council’s Corning Award for Excellence for 2005.

The award, which is sponsored by Corning Incorporated, will be presented Wednesday, Sept. 21, at The Business Council’s Annual Meeting at the Sagamore in Bolton Landing. The Council’s Annual Meeting will run from Sept. 21-23.

The Business Council gives the award each year to a New Yorker who has shown outstanding accomplishment and a deep and sustaining commitment to the people of New York. The first Corning Award was presented in 1979.

Carp, who will retire as chairman of Kodak in January, is being recognized for the strong leadership behind a rare feat in the history of major corporations: the successful transformation from one, longstanding core technology to a foundation in the new technology that is replacing it.

"Few corporate leaders have successfully changed their business model to keep pace with radical changes in the company's core technology," said Business Council President Daniel B. Walsh. "But Dan Carp has created the foundation for this achievement at Kodak -- by investing in new digital products and services and by recruiting executives experienced in digital markets, including his successor, Antonio M. Perez. He has also earned renown through the business world for his unsurpassed commitment to diversity in the corporate culture. This legacy makes him an especially worthy recipient of the Corning Award for Excellence."

Governor Pataki said, "Kodak is succeeding in its digital transformation, thanks to Dan Carp. Dan has guided the company through this change with skill, determination and integrity. This recognition of his contributions is well deserved."

Since Carp became Kodak's chief executive officer in January 2000, the company has invested more in growing digital markets while smartly managing the challenges associated with the decline in traditional photography.

The press has taken note of Kodak’s success in the digital industry. For example, a Time magazine special on the company in February of this year applauded Carp's management.

"A year after Carp launched the restructuring, Kodak has lined up a respectable portfolio of increasingly lucrative digital products and services," the magazine said. "In a sense, Carp has turned Kodak’s quandary into strategic inspiration."

Carp began his career at Kodak in 1970 as a statistical analyst, and held a variety of increasingly responsible positions in market research, business planning, and management. In 1988, he became the general manager of the Latin American Region for Kodak, and in 1991, he was named general manager of the company’s European, African and Middle Eastern Region. He was elected executive vice president in 1995, and became president and chief operating officer in 1997. In December 1997, he joined the company's board of directors, and he became chairman of the board in December 2000.

Carp has also earned widespread recognition infusing the Kodak culture with a deep commitment to diversity, which Carp embraced as both the right thing to do and a sound business move.

In addition to serving on Kodak’s board, Carp serves on the board of directors of Texas Instruments.

Carp has been the recipient of a number of awards and honors, including the Photographic and Imaging Manufacturers Association Leadership Award (2001) and the Human Relations Award of the American Jewish Committee Photographic Imaging Division in 1997. He was also one of the first selected to be a member of the 2000 Alumni Hall of Distinction of the New York State Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities.

Carp is a native of Wytheville, Virginia. He received a bachelor’s degree from Ohio University in quantitative methods, an MBA degree from the Rochester Institute of Technology, and a master’s of science degree in management from the Sloan School of Management at MIT.

The Corning Award is a magnificent piece of original Steuben Glass, handcrafted by masters in Corning, New York. Previous Corning Award recipients are: Amo Houghton (2004) Lewis Golub (2003); Carl T. Hayden (2002); Roland W. Schmitt (2001); Richard P. Mills (2000); Erland E. Kailbourne (1999); Robert B. Wegman (1998); Judith S. Kaye (1997); John J. Phelan, Jr. (1996); Barber B. Conable, Jr., (1995); James W. Kinnear (1994); Muriel Siebert (1993); Hugh L. Carey (1992); David Harden (1991); Raymond T. Schuler (1990); Warren M. Anderson and Stanley Fink (1989); Edmund T. Pratt, Jr. (1988); James D. Robinson III (1987); Franklin A. Thomas (1986); Kitty Carlisle Hart (1985); Frank T. Cary (1984); Clifton Garvin (1983); David Rockefeller (1982); Richard R. Shinn (1981); Melvin C. Holm (1980); and Walter A. Fallon (1979).