Democrats Sweep Statewide Races

The New York State Democratic party enjoyed overwhelming victories, sweeping all four statewide races by large margins, and knocking off three Republican members of the U.S. House of Representatives. Governor-elect Eliot Spitzer won with a record 69 percent of the vote to 29 percent for his opponent, Republican John Faso. U.S. Senator Hillary Clinton defeated former Yonkers Mayor John Spencer 67% to 31%. Andrew Cuomo defeated former Westchester District Attorney Jeanine Pirro 57% to 40%, and Comptroller Alan Hevesi fought back a challenge from Saratoga County Treasurer Christopher Callaghan, winning 56% to 39%. These percentages are determined with 98% of the precincts reporting.

U.S. House of Representatives

Democrats captured three seats long-held by Republicans. This 3 seat turnaround means that New York's congressional delegation will now have 25 Democrats and just 6 Republicans. The changes are as follows:

State Senate

The Senate will remain in Republican control despite the sweep by Democrats in the statewide races. It looks as though Senator Nick Spano may lose his long held seat to Democrat Andrea Stewart-Cousins, whom he narrowly defeated in 2004. With 80% of the districts reporting, Stewart-Cousins had a narrow lead, 51% to 49%.

Other races that were predicted to be close were not.

On Long Island, John Flanagan handily defeated Brooke Ellison, 59% to 41%, and Senator Caesar Trunzo defeated Jimmy Dahroug, 53% to 44%.

In the Hudson Valley, Vincent Leibell fought back challenger Michael Kaplowitz 56% to 44%, and John Bonacic handily defeated Susan Zimet 57% to 42%.

Incumbent David Valesky won easily (58% to 42%) over former Assemblyman Jeff Brown in a hotly contested race in Central New York.

And in a race that was not predicted to be close, Senator Serph Maltese of Queens narrowly defeated Albert Baldeo, 51% to 49%.

Party composition now looks to be 34 to 28, in favor of the Republicans.

OPEN SEATS (*unofficial)

District # Winner Former Member
10th S.D. Shirley Huntley (D) Ada Smith (D)
20th S.D. Eric Adams (D) Carl Andrews (D)
24th S.D. Andrew Lanza (R) John Marchi (R)
30th S.D. Bill Perkins (D) David Paterson (D)
35th S.D. Andrea Stewart-Cousins* (D) Nick Spano (R)
47th S.D. Joseph Griffo (R) Ray Meier (R)
60th S.D. Antoine Thompson (D) Marc Coppola (D)

State Assembly

The Democrats super-majority appears to have grown even larger as a result of this election (108 - 42). Republican incumbents all retained their seats, but Democrats won three open seats traditionally Republican districts. They are as follows:

OPEN SEATS (*unofficial)

District # Winner Former Member
22nd A.D. Ellen Young (D) Jimmy Meng (D)
25th A.D. Rory Lancman (D) Brian McLaughlin (D)
46th A.D. Alec Brook-Krasny (D) Adele Cohen (D)
57th A.D. Hakeem Jeffries (D) Roger Green (D)
60th A.D. Janele Hyer-Spencer (D) Matthew Mirones (R)
74th A.D. Brian Kavanagh (D) Sylvia Friedman (D)
93rd A.D. Mike Spano* (R) Lou Mosiello (R)
95th A.D. Ellen Jaffee (D) Ryan Karben (D)
99th A.D. Greg Ball (R) Will Stephens (R)
103rd A.D. Marcus Molinaro (R) Pat Manning (R)
108th A.D. Tim Gordon (D) Pat Casale (R)
114th A.D. Janet Duprey (R) Chris Ortloff (R)
121st A.D. Albert Stripe* (D) Jeff Brown (R)
127th A.D. Peter Lopez (R) DanHooker (R)
143rd A.D. Dennis Gabryszak (D) Paul Tokasz (D)